Clubs/Activities

Introduction

At Huron High School, we offer numerous extracurricular activities, clubs, and organizations. In addition, we offer opportunities to participate in the performing arts and athletics. Huron High School has something for everyone. All students are encouraged to participate in a variety of activities.

We have a sincere belief that extracurricular activities, sports, and clubs help students make connections between their lives and the classroom. In many ways, these offerings add deeper layers to students' overall educational experiences. We are proud of our extracurricular programs, and we encourage you to explore our offerings listed below.

Whether students are interested in band, athletics, clubs, or service opportunities, Huron High School has something for everyone.

Clubs/Extracurricular

  • Art Club - Mrs. Tymensky  - Email:  tymenskyn@huronschools.org
    Anyone interested in art may join, not only those currently enrolled in an art class.

  • Chiefs for Christ - Mrs. Handyside - Email:  handysidel@huronschools.org
    Bible study and Christian student organization.

  • French Club - Mrs. Handyside - Email:  handysidel@huronschools.org
    Students meet, discuss French culture and participate in fundraisers for various activities.

  • Auditorium Tech Crew - Mrs. Ritthaler - Email:  ritthalere@huronschools.org
    Students interested in working behind the scenes in the theater must see auditorium manager. The crew works all shows and programs that take place in the auditorium.

  • Marching/Concert Bands - Mrs. Ritthaler - Email: ritthalere@huronschools.org
    While band is considered a credit course in the curriculum, it also is a performing organization and makes public appearances throughout the school year.

  • Color Guard - Mrs. Ritthaler - Email:  ritthalere@huronschools.org
    The color guard performs with the marching band. Tryouts for this group take place in the spring.

  • Drama Club - Mrs. Waddell - Email:  waddellk@huronschools.org
    An opportunity to get involved in the school plays. Includes auditions, rehearsals, performances, technical support and props running for two productions each year.

  • National Honor Society - Mrs. Sower and Mrs. Gietzen - Emails:  sowerj@huronschools.org and gietzenw@huronschools.org
    Juniors and Seniors who meet the national requirements of scholarship, service, leadership and character may apply.  Complete policy for application is available in both offices.

  • Outdoor Challenge
    Students have an organizational meeting each fall and participate in a variety of hiking, canoeing and camping experiences.
  • S.A.D.D - Mrs. Sower and Mrs. Porter - Emails:  sowerj@huronschools.org and porterk@huronschools.org
    SADD (Student's Against Destructive Decisions) mission is to empower young people to successfully confront the risks and pressures that challenge them throughout their daily lives.

  • Spanish Club - Mr. Oliva - Email:  olivap@huronschools.org
    Students meet, discuss Spanish culture and participate in fundraisers for various activities.

  • Student Council - Mrs. Bouchard and Mrs. Nagrich - Emails:  bouchardh@huronschools.org and nagricha@huronschools.org
    Student Council provides leadership for the student body with officers and representatives from each grade level. They meet regularly to discuss school issues and activities.
  • Ecology Club - Ms. Beregsasy - Email:  beregsasyl@huronschools.org
    Students engage in a variety of activities centered around the improvement of our environment within our community.

  • Quiz Bowl - Mrs. Farrell - Email:  farrellc@huronschools.org
    Students compete against teams of other students answering academic questions.

  • Creative Writing Club - Mrs. Fichtner - Email:  fichtnerm@huronschools.org
    Creative Writing Club works with new writers giving them meaningful feedback on their personal writing. During meetings members read aloud writing projects and get feedback regarding revision, dialogue, voice development, details and craft.  
  • Board Game Club - Mr. LaRew - Email:  larewd@huronschools.org
    The club meets regularly to play strategy games, word games, party games, card games, and classics. Bring your own game or choose from our library. All experience levels are welcome.
  • Teens Read - Mrs. Melnychenko - Email:  melnychenkoc@huronschools.org

    Teens Read is a book club that meets once a month. Students choose a book to read and then meet the following month to discuss it.

  • Boy's Tennis Club - Mrs. Hartley - Email:  hartleyk@huronschools.org

    Meets every Thursday from 3-4PM at Huron's tennis courts. Experience is not necessary but a physical must be on file. for more information contact Mrs. Hartley.

  • Crochet Circle - Mrs. Farrell - Email:  farrellc@huronschools.org 

    Welcome everyone who wants to learn how to crochet. First project is a Chemo Cap to be donated to Knots of Love. For more information join our remind @hhs9898.

  • Chief Pride - Mrs. Springer and Mr. Tomasek - Emails:  springerk@huronschools.org and tomaseka@huronschools.org

    Chief Pride is a spirit all inclusive club that celebrates all aspects of being a Huron Student. Also included is the Chief Pride Points program where students earn points for Chief Pride Letter and Senior Cords for graduation. Join remind @chiefpr

  • Math Team - Mrs. Springer - Email:  springerk@huronschools.org

    Math Team meets alternating Wednesday mornings at 7am. Math team competes in various mathematics and logic competitions to earn scholarships as well as national recognition. Join remind @7bbef4

  • Family History/Tree Club - Mrs. Tachoir - Email:  tachoirk@huronschools.org                                                  Students have the opportunity to construct and research family history.  

 

 

Sports


The following are sporting activities categorized by season. All students are encouraged to participate in a variety of activities. Click here for the Athletic website.

Fall Sports Winter Sports Spring Sports
Football Boys' Basketball Baseball
Girls' Swimming Hockey Softball
Girls' Cross Country Wrestling Girls' Soccer
Boys' Cross Country Girls' Basketball Girls' Track
Equestrain Team (Club) Competitive Cheer Boys' Track
Girls Golf Boys' Swimming Boy's Golf
Volleyball Bowling Girls' Tennis
Sideline Cheerleading
Boys' Soccer

Students are expected to leave the building once the club, activity, dance, or sport that they are participating in concludes. Students are not permitted to roam the building unattended without the supervision of a coach or sponsor.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.